AutoCarto 2020

Esri campus

CaGIS is proud to present AutoCarto 2020, the 23rd International Research Symposium on cartography and GIScience, with its focus on the intersection of the two.

AutoCarto 2020 will be offered online as a set of extended abstracts and associated recorded presentations. These will go live on Wednesday, November 18, 2020. Viewers will have the opportunity to contact presenters with questions or comments. Extended abstracts will also be published in the AutoCarto 2020 Online Proceedings.

We look forward to seeing you in person again at AutoCarto 2022.


Important Dates

  • Newly submitted extended abstracts due: September 15, 2020 (please choose New Paper as the submission type)
  • Newly submitted extended abstract decisions: September 30, 2020
  • Revised extended abstracts due: September 30, 2020
  • Presentations due: November 1, 2020

For meeting updates, follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

AutoCarto 2020 is endorsed by the International Cartographic Association

The AutoCarto symposium series, started in 1974, has a long history of bringing together people from academia, industry, and government agencies to share research and explore new ideas in cartography and GIScience.

The theme of AutoCarto 2020 is WhereNext. In this symposium, we not only look at where we are and where to go next, we also challenge the ideas of where and next in terms of meaning, communication, visualization, and reasoning in the new age of automation, robotic revolution, and artificial intelligence (AI).

Conference Chair

Aileen Buckley, Esri

Program Chair

May Yuan, The University of Texas at Dallas

Organizing Committee

David Alvarez, Esri
Samantha Arundel, U. S. Geological Survey
Rex Cammack, University of Nebraska – Omaha
Daniel Cole, Smithsonian Institute
Kari Craun, retired (U.S. Geological Survey)
Eric Delmelle, University of North Carolina – Charlotte
Charlie Frye, Esri
Kevin Hawley, U.S Census Bureau
Indy Hurt, Zillow
Mark Kumler, University of Redlands
Rakesh Malhotra, North Carolina Central University
Thomas Pingel, Virginia Tech University
Jaynya Richards, Esri
Anthony Robinson, The Pennsylvania State University
Michael Shin, University of California – Los Angeles
Alexandre Sorokine, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Denis White, Oregon State University

Join the largest Cartography and Geographic Information Science network.